Your path to becoming a credentialed actuary and earning our ACAS and FCAS designations, which are unmatched for their rigor, integrity and relevance.
Educational Journey 2023
Actuarial candidates must pass a series of exams to become credentialed property and casualty actuaries and CAS members. The requirements outlined here will help guide you to the highly coveted Associate (ACAS) and Fellow (FCAS) designations.

*The CAS will grant waivers for candidates who pass examinations offered by other organizations that cover our CAS learning objectives. These organizations include but are not limited to: Society of Actuaries, Canadian Institute of Actuaries, Institute and Faculty of Actuaries (UK), Actuaries Institute (Australia), Actuarial Society of South Africa, Institute of Actuaries of India, and China Association of Actuaries. Please note that the path as outlined is intended to illustrate a typical sequence through the requirements; candidates are not restricted to the path as depicted.

Learn Before You Register

About Registration
Learn more about exam registration details, such as testing centers, other languages and special arrangements for candidates.
Exam Fees
See fees for candidates and full-time students and learn more about fee and study material discount programs.
Principles & Policies
Discover more about requirements for conduct as well as how to report exam misconduct.
Computer-Based Testing
Learn about the CAS and computer-based testing.
Transition Rules
Waiver Policy