Apply for the 2022 Midwestern Actuarial Forum (MAF) Scholarship

Apply for the 2022 MAF Scholarship


The objective of the scholarship is to further students’ interest in the property/casualty actuarial profession and to encourage the pursuit of the CAS designations.


Scholarships are awarded on the basis of individual merit. The MAF Scholarship Program will award up to two scholarships to deserving students for the 2021-2022 academic year. Both will receive a $1,000 scholarship.

Eligibility – You must meet all requirements to be considered

  • Must submit all sections of the MAF Scholarship application by February 15, 2021
  • Currently attending a U.S. college or university as a full-time student and continuing as a full time student at a U.S. college or university in the 2021-2022 academic year
  • Applicants must have sat for at least one actuarial exam by December of 2021
  • Must be a member of CAS Student Central
    • (Join here for free:
  • Preference will be given to residents or those attending schools in one of the Midwest States (Illinois, Indiana, Iowa, Michigan, Minnesota, Ohio or Wisconsin)
  • Applicants should demonstrate high scholastic achievement and strong interest in the casualty actuarial profession, mathematical aptitude, and communication skills.

You must submit the following:

The four page MAF Scholarship application and attached essay.

One letter of recommendation included in this application, preferably completed by internship supervisors, instructors and/or advisors at your educational institution who know you well. Separate letters must be submitted and accompanied by the recommendation forms included. Only one recommendation letter will be considered.

A current official transcript.

*Incomplete applications will be disqualified without any consideration to partial information received.

*Completed applications are due by February 15, 2022.

*You will be notified of award decisions by March 11, 2022. 

Applications are available from MAF or online at the MAF website at