Casualty Actuarial Society

Exams & Admissions

Chartered Enterprise Risk Analyst (CERA)

The CAS is an award signatory for the Chartered Enterprise Risk Analyst (CERA) credential.


In November 2009, 14 actuarial education organisations from around the world took the unprecedented step of agreeing to collaborate to develop and administer a new qualification in ERM, the Chartered Enterprise Risk Actuary* (CERA) – a ground breaking achievement, and the birth of the Global CERA Treaty.

The CERA Global Association (CGA) grants actuarial organisations the right to award the global CERA qualification to individual actuaries who have satisfied the requisite education and training requirements set out in the CERA Global Treaty.

The global CERA Web Site contains details about this international designation.

Why choose CERA?

The CERA qualification provides risk professionals with strong ERM knowledge that drives better business decisions. Professional, ethical and trusted, with impeccable standards and integrity, a professional with the CERA qualification is able to effectively communicate ideas with leadership and is qualified to play varying roles within an organisation, from risk manager to chief risk officer and more.

How can I get the CERA qualification?

Credential Requirements

The CAS requirements to qualify for the CERA designation are:

  • Meet all requirements for CAS Associateship
  • Have credit for CAS Exam 7 and Exam 9
  • Successfully complete the three-day Enterprise Risk Management and Modeling Seminar for CERA Qualification
    • The next offering of this seminar will be in March 2018 at the CAS Office in Arlington, VA.
  • Successfully complete Exam ST9, Enterprise Risk Management Specialist Technical, of the Institute and Faculty of Actuaries (U.K.)
    • The next administration of Exam ST9, Enterprise Risk Management Specialist Technical, will be held on April 19, 2018. There is a special registration process for those taking Exam ST9 to fulfill the CAS CERA requirements. The Registration Deadline for the April Administration is 15 February 2018.
    • ST-9 Passing Candidates

Fellows of the CAS are required to successfully complete the seminar and the ST9 exam.

Application Forms

CERA Transfer Form

After meeting all CAS CERA requirements, a person must submit a signed CERA application to the CAS to obtain the designation.

The application may also be used to do the following:

  • Members of the Canadian Institute of Actuaries who have completed the CAS requirements for CERA may request that the CERA designation be granted through the CIA rather than the CAS.
  • Those who completed the Society of Actuaries requirements for CERA may request that the CERA designation be granted through the CAS rather than the SOA.


Learn more by watching the recorded Webinar on CERA Requirements.

Experienced Practitioner's Pathway

Class of May 2013 - Experienced Practioner's Pathway

Applications for the Experienced Practitioners' Pathway are no longer being accepted.

The CAS is happy to announce that 94 applicants were accepted to obtain their Chartered Enterprise Risk Analyst (CERA) certification through the Experienced Practitioners' Pathway. There were 119 applicants that were judged based on a list of ten criteria that includes a minimum of three years of substantial experience in the ERM field, experience as a risk officer for an entity or line of business, and research conducted that has resulted in practical industry ERM applications. Those who were accepted must attend a two day seminar to obtain their certification. The CAS will announce seminar dates for the spring as they become available.

CERA’s dedicated website

To find out how CERA can enhance your career opportunities, go to the CERA global website.


Should you have a question, please contact Ashley Zamperini at

*All signatories to the Treaty use the acronym 'CERA', but CERA variously translates as one of the following, according to local requirements:

  • Chartered Enterprise Risk Analyst
  • Chartered Enterprise Risk Actuary
  • Certified Enterprise Risk Analyst
  • Certified Enterprise Risk Actuary