Earn the Chartered Enterprise Risk Analyst (CERA) through the CAS.

Chartered Enterprise Risk Analyst (CERA)


The CAS is an award signatory for the Chartered Enterprise Risk Analyst (CERA) credential.

In November 2009, 14 actuarial education organizations from around the world took the unprecedented step of agreeing to collaborate to develop and administer a new qualification in ERM, the Chartered Enterprise Risk Actuary* (CERA) – a ground breaking achievement, and the birth of the Global CERA Treaty.

The CERA Global Association (CGA) grants actuarial organizations the right to award the global CERA qualification to individual actuaries who have satisfied the requisite education and training requirements set out in the CERA Global Treaty.

The global CERA website contains details about this international designation.

Why Choose CERA?

The CERA qualification provides risk professionals with strong ERM knowledge that drives better business decisions. Professional, ethical and trusted, with impeccable standards and integrity, a professional with the CERA qualification is able to effectively communicate ideas with leadership and is qualified to play varying roles within an organization, from risk manager to chief risk officer and more.

How Can I Get the CERA Qualification?

Credential Requirements

The CAS requirements to qualify for the CERA designation are:

  • Meet all requirements for CAS Associateship
  • Have credit for CAS Exam 7 and Exam 9
  • Successfully complete the three-day Enterprise Risk Management and Modeling Seminar for CERA Qualification​​​​​​
    • Notice: The CAS will now be offering the ERMM for CERA Seminar every other year. The next seminar will be held in 2022. Please contact casexams@casact.org with any questions or concerns.
  • Successfully complete Exam SP9, Enterprise Risk Management Specialist Principles, of the Institute and Faculty of Actuaries (U.K.)

Fellows of the CAS are required to successfully complete the seminar and the SP9 exam.

Application Forms

CERA Transfer Form

After meeting all CAS CERA requirements, a person must submit a signed CERA application to the CAS to obtain the designation.

The application may also be used to do the following:

  • Members of the Canadian Institute of Actuaries who have completed the CAS requirements for CERA may request that the CERA designation be granted through the CIA rather than the CAS.
  • Those who completed the Society of Actuaries requirements for CERA may request that the CERA designation be granted through the CAS rather than the SOA.

Learn more by watching the recorded Webinar on CERA Requirements.

CERA’S Dedicated Website

To find out how CERA can enhance your career opportunities, go to the CERA global website.


Should you have a question, please contact casexams@casact.org.

*All signatories to the Treaty use the acronym 'CERA', but CERA variously translates as one of the following, according to local requirements:

  • Chartered Enterprise Risk Analyst
  • Chartered Enterprise Risk Actuary
  • Certified Enterprise Risk Analyst
  • Certified Enterprise Risk Actuary


CAS Recognized as CERA Award Signatory

(10/05/2011) - We are pleased to announce that the CAS has been recognized as an award signatory and may begin to award the new Chartered Enterprise Risk Analyst (CERA) credential, with unanimous support from the CERA Treaty Board. The Treaty Board met on October 1 in conjunction with the IAA Council and Committee meetings in Zagreb, Croatia.

With this recognition, we can now focus on implementing our CERA credentialing program. We are working to mobilize the appropriate CAS committees to move forward with the next steps for offering members the ability to meet our CERA requirements.

Read More

As announced in August, the CAS requirements to qualify for the CERA designation include CAS Associateship requirements plus credit for CAS Exams 7 and 9, or attainment of the CAS Fellowship designation, plus participation in a rigorous three-day seminar and successful completion of the U.K. ST-9 Enterprise Risk Management Specialist Technical Exam (ST-9 exam).

The three-day seminar will cover the ERM learning objectives tested in the ST-9 exam, and is intended to prepare candidates for successful completion of the exam. We expect to offer the seminar for the first time in March 2012, in advance of the April 2012 ST-9 exam sitting. More details will be announced as soon as they are available.

In addition to the exam/seminar pathway, the CAS will continue to develop a second path, called the Experienced Practitioners Pathway (EPP), that will allow the CAS to award the CERA designation to existing members who are leading practitioners and who are considered, by virtue of their experience, to have demonstrated a level of knowledge and understanding of ERM comparable to that achieved by other designees. The CAS is seeking approval of such a program now that it has been granted CERA award signatory status. Again, we will release more details on the EPP process when they are available.

Our recognition to award the CERA designation and our eventual credentialing of CAS members will help strengthen the standing of qualified CAS members in the field of risk management. More information about the CERA credential can be found on the global CERA web site.