University Programs

CAS Announces 2022 CAS University Award Winners!


July 1, 2022 Arlington, VA – The Casualty Actuarial Society (CAS) is pleased to announce the winners of the 2022 CAS University Award Program. This year’s honorees include all first-time recipients: Bryant University, Drake University, Sri Sathya Sai Institute of Higher Learning, University of Wisconsin-Eau Claire.
The four universities were selected by a panel of judges among a competitive field of applicants for the innovative and exemplary ways they are preparing students for a career in the property and casualty insurance industry.  

The CAS University Award Program is an annual program designed to celebrate and honor universities  that share our commitment to fostering the development of the next generation of property and casualty actuaries. The selection process is extremely competitive, with 43 universities worldwide having sought recognition through this program.

“The panel of judges was truly inspired and impressed by the applicant university programs from around the world,” said Anson Lo, a Fellow of the CAS who chairs the CAS University Award Program. “The students at these universities have incredible opportunities to learn about the property and casualty industry while still in school!”

The four winning schools will each receive a $5,000 monetary award to further enhance their actuarial programs, and they will be recognized at the 2022 CAS Annual Meeting in November, where they will also present a session highlighting the innovations they’ve incorporated into their programs. The CAS will be providing details of the initiatives and programs that helped this year’s winners stand apart through upcoming articles and web postings, to facilitate the sharing of ideas within the academic community and across the insurance industry.

Past honorees include Arizona State University, Brigham Young University, Georgia State University, University of New South Wales in 2021, McMaster University, Middle Tennessee State University, Temple University, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign in 2020; Illinois State University, University of Connecticut, University of Toronto in 2019; Arizona State University, Renmin University of China, and University of Texas at Austin in 2018; Ball State University, St. John’s University, and University of Wisconsin-Madison in 2017; and Illinois State University, University of California, Santa Barbara, University of Connecticut, and University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign in 2016. The CAS University Engagement Committee has a three-year waiting period before winners of the CAS University Award may reapply for recognition.

About the Casualty Actuarial Society
The Casualty Actuarial Society (CAS) is a leading international organization for credentialing and professional education. Founded in 1914, the CAS is the world’s only actuarial organization focused exclusively on property and casualty risks and serves 9,000 members worldwide. Professionals educated by the CAS empower business and government to make well-informed strategic, financial and operational decisions. Learn more at