Casualty Actuarial Society

Press Room

Casualty Actuarial Society Announces 2017 Winners of CAS University Award Program

06/06/2017 —

2017 Honorees include Ball State University, St. John’s University, University of Wisconsin-Madison

June 6, 2017 Arlington, VA – The Casualty Actuarial Society (CAS) is pleased to announce that three universities have been selected as recipients of the 2017 CAS University Award, an honor created to recognize schools doing exemplary work in preparing students for a career in the property and casualty insurance industry. The schools honored in the program’s second year include Ball State University, St. John’s University, and University of Wisconsin-Madison.

As the world’s only actuarial organization focused exclusively on property and casualty risks, the CAS is dedicated to fostering the development of the next generation of property and casualty actuaries, and supports and encourages universities to expose their students to opportunities in the property and casualty insurance industry. Historically, the awareness of actuarial students of the property and casualty industry at the university level had been limited; however, with the growth in interest of actuarial careers, as well as the rising demand for the skills of credentialed property and casualty actuaries, schools are increasingly incorporating property and casualty curriculum into their programs.

Recognizing this, the CAS celebrates and honors schools doing extraordinary work preparing future property and casualty actuaries by sponsoring the CAS University Award Program. The program was introduced in 2016, and is conducted annually. The goal of the award is to facilitate the promotion and sharing of ideas within the academic community.

The 2017 selection process was extremely competitive, with 17 schools throughout North America and Asia submitting applications to share the ways they are excelling in exposing their students to the property and casualty insurance industry in the areas of curriculum, research, industry engagement, and innovation.

Winners of the 2017 CAS University Award Program were determined by a panel of judges from companies across the property and casualty insurance industry.

“Now in its second year, we continue to receive impressive applications for the CAS University Award Program from schools in North America and around the world,” said Chris Coleianne, a Fellow of the CAS who chaired the program in 2016 and 2017. “We are excited to see the activities taking place within universities to prepare the future members of the CAS.”

The three winning schools will be recognized at the 2017 CAS Annual Meeting, taking place November 5-8, 2017 in Austin, Texas.

Last year’s honorees were Illinois State University, University of California, Santa Barbara, University of Connecticut, and University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign.  As recent winners, these schools were not eligible for the award in 2017. The CAS University Engagement Committee has implemented a three-year waiting period before winners of the CAS University Award may reapply for recognition.

About the Casualty Actuarial Society
The Casualty Actuarial Society (CAS) is a leading international organization for credentialing and professional education. CAS credentials demonstrate the expertise to identify, analyze and advise on the potential financial impact of risk and uncertainty. Professionals educated by the Casualty Actuarial Society empower business and government to make well-informed strategic, financial and operational decisions.

Back to All News Articles

Back to Future-Fellows News