Casualty Actuarial Society

Press Room

2017 CAS University Award Program

12/15/2016 —

At the CAS, we're passionate about the unique role that universities play in advancing the body of knowledge of actuarial science, especially within property and casualty insurance.  We are pleased to announce that the CAS is now accepting applications for the 2017 CAS University Award Program. The program, now in its second year, was developed to recognize colleges and universities that excel in exposing students to the property and casualty insurance industry, with a focus on four primary areas: Curriculum, Research, Engagement, and Innovation.

The CAS University Award Program promotes and celebrates the award winners, and facilitates the sharing of ideas within the academic community. Up to three schools will be honored through the CAS University Award Program. The winning schools will each receive substantial recognition, such as on the CAS website and in a press release, as well as a monetary award of $5,000 to further enhance their programs.

The application deadline is March 15, 2017 and winners will be announced on June 1, 2017.

We are seeking applications of schools that are exposing students to property and casualty topics in any of the following areas:

  • Curriculum: Classes or coursework offered that facilitate the understanding of property and casualty insurance topics.
  • Research: Production of research in the field of property and casualty insurance; available opportunities to pursue property and casualty research.
  • Engagement: Connections to the property and casualty industry through events or partnerships with property and casualty employers and organizations. 
  • Innovation: Innovative opportunities and activities available to students and professors, such as special events, case studies, or unique coursework. 

These are just a few examples of ways that schools can demonstrate their commitment to enhancing education and research in the property and casualty insurance industry. Applicants are welcome to provide examples outside of those outlined.

Our 2016 CAS University Award Program winners included Illinois State University, University of California, Santa Barbara, University of Connecticut, and University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign.

Application Instructions:
Applicants can access the 2017 CAS University Award Program Application Form  online using their CAS login/password credentials. Applicants requiring CAS login credentials should contact Tamar Gertner, CAS University Engagement Manager for assistance.

As part of the application process, schools can have up to two recommendations submitted on their behalf.

CAS University Award Program Timeline
Application Deadline: March 15, 2017
Announcement of Winners: June 1, 2017
Recognition at CAS Annual Meeting in Orlando: November 6, 2017

Please direct questions about the CAS University Award Program to Tamar Gertner, CAS University Engagement Manager, at

The CAS University Engagement Committee has implemented a three year waiting period before winners of the CAS University Award may reapply for the award.

Back to All News Articles

Back to Future-Fellows News