Casualty Actuarial Society

New Members

Certify Compliance with the CAS Continuing Education Policy

11/03/2011 —

Certify Now!
The CAS Continuing Education (CE) Policy will first apply to Actuarial Services rendered on or after January 1, 2012. Fellows and Associates will need to certify their compliance with the policy’s CE requirements as of December 31, 2011. Compliance with the CAS CE Policy allows the member to provide actuarial services in the year immediately following certification of compliance unless subject to the Transition Rules under Section D.

Certify Compliance On Line Now

CAS members may now certify their compliance with the policy, in just a few easy steps:

  1. Go to the CAS Web Site home page ( and click "My Information" (which is the second menu item from the top in the left-hand navigation menu).
  2. Log in (if you are already logged in, you will jump to the next step).
  3. On the next page, beside the heading "CE Compliance Attestation" (midway down the page) click Edit.
  4. On the next page, click the small Add button at the top right.
  5. In the new pop-up window, you will see three drop down menus. Select:
    1. The year for which you are certifying (2012)
    2. Whether or not you have complied with the Policy, or if you are not providing actuarial services.
    3. Your method of compliance.
  6. Click Save, and you are finished.

Note that since members can certify compliance for up to two years out, you may certify for future years by completing the same process for 2013.

CAS members should certify compliance by December 31, 2011.

What Do You Certify?

Members can meet the requirements of the CAS CE Policy by satisfying the continuing education requirements established by a national organization recognized by the CAS CE Policy and described in the National Compliance Provisions in Section B or by meeting the alternative requirements described in the Alternative Compliance Provisions in Section C.

These national standards are recognized in Section B:

  • The Qualification Standards for Actuaries Issuing Statements of Actuarial Opinion in the United States (U.S. Qualification Standard).
  • The Canadian Institute of Actuaries Qualification Standard – Continuing Professional Development (CIA Qualification Standard).
  • Category 1 or 2 of the CPD Scheme of the United Kingdom Faculty of Actuaries/Institute of Actuaries (U.K. CPD Scheme).
  • The Continuing Professional Development Standard of the Institute of Actuaries of Australia (IAAust CPD Standard).

Please note that according to the January 1, 2008 edition of the U.S. Qualification Standard for actuaries issuing Statements of Actuarial Opinion in the U.S.:

“By virtue of their common Code of Professional Conduct, members of the American Society of Pension Professionals and Actuaries (ASPPA), the Casualty Actuarial Society (CAS), the Conference of Consulting Actuaries (CCA), and the Society of Actuaries (SOA), whether or not they are also members of the Academy, are subject to all requirements imposed by the Qualification Standards upon members of the Academy.”

As the definition of “Statement of Actuarial Opinion” was broadened in the 2008 edition, most actuaries in the U.S. might be subject to the requirements of the U.S. Qualification Standard, rather than to the CAS Alternative Compliance Provisions, and choosing Section C of the CAS CE Policy might not be an option. Please consult the U.S. Qualification Standard found on the American Academy of Actuaries’ website.

Compliance Log and Audits

CAS members should maintain a log of their CE activity to document that they have met the continuing education requirements. The CAS plans to randomly audit 1% of the continuing education logs for members who have attested their compliance with the CE Policy to verify the accuracy of information maintained in the CAS database. In addition, the CAS Board of Directors agreed that 100% of the Board and Executive Council members (excluding appointed directors and the Executive Director) will be subject to the annual audit regarding compliance with the CAS CE Policy.

Actuaries Not Currently Providing Actuarial Services

CAS members who do not provide Actuarial Services are exempt from meeting the continuing education requirement of the CAS Continuing Education Policy. However, those members are still required to attest to their compliance by indicating that they are Not Currently Providing Actuarial Services, following the same steps described above.

Impact of Not Certifying Compliance on the Website

Beginning in January 2012, the general public will be able to search a limited portion of the CAS online membership directory for information on member compliance with the CE requirements. The limited directory will display member names, membership designations, and current year's compliance status (compliant, not compliant, not providing actuarial services).

More Information: CE Policy and FAQ

Members are encouraged to review the complete CE Policy for all of the details on the CE requirements. The policy, a list of frequently asked questions and responses, audit procedures, and links to other resources are available on the CAS Web Site.

If you have any questions, please contact David Core, CAS Director of Professional Education and Research, at

Back to All News Articles

Back to Future-Fellows News