Actuarial Review Return to Main Page

Walters Becomes President; Lehmann Chosen for President-Elect

ARLINGTON, Va. - Mavis A. Walters will officially succeed Robert A. Anker as CAS president at the close of the 1997 CAS Annual Meeting held in Palm Desert, California, this month. Steven G. Lehmann will assume the responsibilities of CAS president-elect.

CAS Fellows voted in October to elect Lehmann as CAS president-elect. A CAS Fellow since 1979, Lehmann is a consulting actuary with Miller, Rapp, Herbers & Terry, Inc. He has served on the CAS Board of Directors from 1988 to 1990 and as vice president-admissions from 1990-1993. During the last several years, Lehmann has also served on various CAS committees and task forces, most recently as the chairperson of the CAS Task Force on Education.

The four new directors elected to the CAS Board of Directors are Paul Braithwaite, Jerome A. Degerness, Michael Fusco, and Stephen P. Lowe.

They will serve three-year terms and succeed Claudette Cantin, Robert F. Conger, John M. Purple, and Richard H. Snader. As the most recent past president, Anker will serve as chairperson for the CAS Board of Directors during 1998.

Valid ballots cast totaled 782, or 47.1 percent of the total number of Fellows eligible to vote. This percentage is lower than the 51.3 percent who voted last year. The average number of voters for the previous five years is 54.3 percent.

Members of the CAS Nominating Committee for the 1997 CAS elections were Irene K. Bass (chairperson), Albert J. Beer, David P. Flynn, Allan M. Kaufman, and Michael L. Toothman.

Editor's Note: For more CAS election results, see " CAS Board of Directors Appoints New Member of Executive Council."