Click here to download a .pdf version of this newsletter. Return to Main Page

Myers Wins President-Elect; Braithwaite to Become CAS President

ARLINGTON, VA.-CAS members elected Thomas G. Myers as CAS President-Elect for 2006. Paul Braithwaite will succeed Stephen P. D'Arcy as CAS president, who in turn will become chairperson of the 2006 CAS Board of Directors. Braithwaite will take on his new position at the close of the 2005 Annual Meeting in Baltimore.

Balloting for the CAS election closed on September 1, 2005, and tellers verified the election results. A total of 1,116 Fellows voted in this year's election, or 40% of the Fellows. This compares to 44% of the Fellows voting in the 2004 election, and 51% of the Fellows voting in the 2003 election.

Paul Braithwaite PresidentThomas G. Meyers, President - Elect
Paul Braitwaite
Thomas G. Meyers
A 1986 Fellow, Myers has been actively involved with the Society's admission policies for several years, serving on and leading many CAS admissions committees and task forces. His activities culminated with a spot on the CAS Executive Council as vice president-admissions in 2002. He currently is a member of the CAS Centennial Goal Implementation Task Force, the Examination Committee, and the Task Force on FCAS Education. Myers is vice president of product management for High Point Safety and Insurance Management in Red Bank, New Jersey.

Members also elected Irene K. Bass, Glenn Meyers, Donald F. Mango, and Roosevelt C. Mosley Jr. to the Board of Directors. They succeed Gary R. Josephson, David J. Oakden, Patricia A. Teufel, and Oakley E. Van Slyke, whose terms on the board have been completed.

At their meeting in September, the board elected James K. Christie as vice president-admissions and Roger M. Hayne as vice president-research & development. Christie and Hayne succeed Thomas G. Myers and Donald F. Mango, respectively. Myers and Mango have both completed three-year terms on the Executive Council. The board also elected John J. Kollar for vice president-risk integration, a new position on the CAS Executive Council that was approved earlier this year. The risk integration VP will coordinate all CAS activities relating to risk integration, paying particular attention to the integration of hazard risk with financial, strategic, and operational risk.

The board re-elected all incumbent vice presidents, including Deborah M. Rosenberg, administration; Amy S. Bouska, international; Beth E. Fitzgerald, professional education; and Joanne S. Spalla, marketing and communications.

Members of the 2005 Nominating Committee are chairperson Gail M. Ross, Ann M. Conway, Janet L. Fagan, Mary Frances Miller, Dale S. Porfilio, Chester John Szczepanski, and Michael L. Toothman.

Click here to write a Letter to the Editors

Copyright Casualty Actuarial Society. All Rights Reserved.