Actuarial Review Return to Main Page

Board Elects New Vice Presidents

Chicago, Il.—In an election conducted during its September 12-13 meeting, the CAS Board of Directors elected the following vice presidents: Thomas G. Myers, vice president­admissions; John C. Narvell, vice president­international; and Donald F. Mango, vice president­research & development. These Fellows will assume their new positions at the close of the 2002 Annual Meeting in Boston.

A 1986 Fellow, Myers has been heavily involved in the admissions process, serving on the Examination Committee in a variety of capacities since 1987. Myers currently serves as Examination Committee chairperson.

Narvell received his Fellowship in 1985 and served as a member of the Membership Survey Task Force (1993), the Syllabus Committee (1992-97), the International Relations Committee (1991-99), and the International Issues Committee (1999-present). He has also served as president of the Casualty Actuaries of Europe and representative to the General Insurance Research Organising Committee.

Mango is a 1994 Fellow who is currently a member of the Committee on Review of Papers, the Future Education Task Force, the Enterprise Risk Management Committee, and the Dynamic Financial Analysis Committee. He also served as a member of the Committee on Reinsurance Research (1998-01), the Research Policy and Management Committee (2000-01), the Committee on Theory of Risk (1998-02), and the Joint CAS/CIA/SOA Committee on Academic Relations (2000-02). Mango is a prolific author and cowinner of the 2002 Ratemaking Prize.

The Board of Directors reelected the three other vice presidents. They are Sheldon Rosenberg (administration), Roger A. Schultz (marketing and communications), and Christopher S. Carlson (professional education).