Actuarial Review Return to Main Page

1997 Michelbacher Prize Awarded

The CAS awarded Theresa W. Bourdon, FCAS, Keith A. Passwater, and Mark Priven, FCAS, the CAS Michelbacher Prize for their paper entitled, "An Introduction to Capitation and Healthcare Provider Excess Insurance." Bourdon, Passwater, and Priven were on hand to receive the Prize at the 1997 CAS Spring Meeting in San Antonio, TX. Ms. Bourdon is vice president and consulting actuary for Aon Risk Management Services in Washington, DC. Mr. Passwater is an actuary with Aon Managed Care in Brentwood, TN. Mr. Priven is vice president for Aon Risk Services in San Francisco, CA.

First awarded in 1979, the Michelbacher Prize commemorates the work of Gustav F. Michelbacher and is given to the best paper submitted in response to a CAS call for discussion papers. A specially appointed committee judges papers for originality, research, readability, and completeness.