Casualty Actuarial Society

Press Room

Prize Winners Announced at the 2012 Casualty Loss Reserve Seminar

10/09/2012 —

The session “There is Probably a Risk-Focused Exam in Your Future. How Do You Deal With It?” was determined to be the “Best Session” at the recent 2012 Casualty Loss Reserve Seminar (CLRS), held September 5-7 at the Sheraton Denver Downtown Hotel in Denver, CO. Kris DeFrain of the National Association of Insurance Commissioners, Melissa Greiner of the Pennsylvania Insurance Department and Craig Moore of Risk & Regulatory Consulting, LLC, will receive a $150 American Express gift card for their efforts in producing a top-notch educational session at the seminar.

If you could not attend the CLRS, or if you attended the seminar and missed some sessions, there are a handful of sessions now available through the University of CAS. Access to sessions is free for attendees; non-attendees can purchase individual sessions for $25 per session or $149 for all of the CLRS sessions. Visit the University of CAS for more details.

Prize Paper Award

The 2012 Recipients of the Ronald Bornhuetter Loss Reserve Prize, were also announced at the CLRS. This award commemorates the work of Ronald Bornhuetter, FCAS (1957). The award was renamed in November 2006 from the Reserves Prize. The award is made to the author(s) of the best paper submitted in response to a call for papers regarding reserves, whenever the program is conducted by the Committee on Reserves of the Casualty Actuarial Society. The announcement of the award is made at the Casualty Loss Reserve Seminar at which the papers are presented.

The 2012 grand prize winners are Jessica (Weng Kah) Leong, Shaun Wang, and Han Chen for their paper Back-Testing the ODP Bootstrap of the Paid Chain-Ladder Model with Actual Historical Claims Data. The authors received prize money and a plaque at the 2012 Casualty Loss Reserve Seminar. Also, Ira Robbin was awarded second prize for his paper A Practical Way to Estimate One-Year Reserve Risk. Both papers are available in the 2012 Summer CAS E-Forum.

Exhibitor Raffle Winner

Finally, the winner of the 2012 CLRS Exhibitor Raffle is Dolph Zielinski of Travelers. Mr. Zielinski visited each of the CLRS table-top exhibits, spoke with the exhibitors and had them initial his raffle form, and submitted the form by the conclusion of the Seminar. Mr. Zielinski received a $250 American Express gift card as the winner of the raffle.

Back to All News Articles

Back to Future-Fellows News