Click here to download a .pdf version of this newsletter.

Return to Main Page

Mary D. Miller Receives Myers Award for Public Service

WASHINGTON , D.C.—The American Academy of Actuaries presented the 2011 Robert J. Myers Award for Public Service to Mary Downey Miller during a ceremony held October 24, 2011. Miller was selected in recognition of her extraordinary contributions to the public good through her 16 years of service as a property and casualty actuary with the Ohio Department of Insurance. She currently serves as the assistant director of the department’s product regulation and actuarial services division.
Mary D. Miller (left) receives her award from Academy President Mary Frances Miller.
Mary D. Miller (left) receives her award from Academy President Mary Frances Miller.

“Having served with her in numerous capacities, I can personally attest to Mary’s outstanding character, her commitment to the actuarial profession, and her passion for serving the public interest,” said Academy President Mary Frances Miller, who presented the award to Miller.

In addition to her work at the Ohio Department of Insurance, Miller serves at the National Association of Insurance Commissioners (NAIC), where she is the vice chairperson of the NAIC’s Casualty Actuarial and Statistical Task Force. She also is a member of the NAIC Health Actuarial Task Force, the Principle-Based Reserves Committee and Corporate Governance Subgroup. She represents Ohio on several other working groups.

Ms. Miller also has served the public interest through various volunteer positions at the American Academy of Actuaries, where she currently serves on its board of directors as a regular director. She was the vice president of the Academy’s Casualty Practice Council from 2004 to 2006 and was the co-chairperson of the Financial Soundness and Risk Management Committee from 2002 to 2005.

The annual award is named for Robert J. Myers, who helped structure and fund the nation’s largest social insurance program in history during his tenure as the chief actuary of the Social Security Administration from 1947 to 1970. The award was established in 1994 to honor Mr. Myer’s lifelong commitment to public service. The award is bestowed upon an actuary who has distinguished himself or herself through many years of service in the public sector.

Click here to write a Letter to the Editors

Copyright © 2018 Casualty Actuarial Society. All Rights Reserved.