Click here to download a .pdf version of this newsletter.

Return to Main Page

Ross Wins President-Elect; Conger to Become President

Gail M. RossRobert F. Conger   ARLINGTON, Va.—In the first CAS competitive election in recent years,   Gail M. Ross won over Sholom   Feldblum to become CAS president-elect. Out of a total 1,274 votes cast, Ross won with 696 votes (55%). Feldblum garnered 578   votes (45%). Ross will take on the position at the close of the 2001 CAS Annual Meeting in Atlanta, Georgia this month, when   Robert F. Conger officially succeeds Patrick J.   Grannan as CAS president.

Balloting for the 2001 CAS election closed on October 1, 2001. CAS tellers verified the election results on October 4,   2001. A total of 1,279 Fellows, or 58.3 percent of the CAS Fellows, voted in this year's election, compared to 39.7 percent of   the Fellows voting in the 2000 election.

CAS Fellows also elected new CAS Board of Directors. They   are Phillip N. Ben-Zvi, Curtis Gary   Dean, David G. Hartman, and Janet R.   Nelson. These Fellows will also assume their new positions at the close of the 2001 Annual Meeting in Atlanta.

Ross has been a CAS Fellow since 1985 and is currently vice president with Am-Re Consultants, Inc. in Princeton,   New Jersey. Ross has served the CAS in various capacities, most recently as member of the CAS Board of Directors, a position   she has held since 1998. Ross has worked on the Syllabus Committee since 1986, serving as vice chair (1994-1995) and   chair (1995-1999). Other CAS work includes chair of the Education Consultant Task Force, member of the Board Task Force   on Exams 3 and 4, and member of International Issues and Education Policy Committees.

The new directors will serve three-year terms. They succeed   Charles A. Bryan, John J. Kollar,   Ross, and Michael L. Toothman. As the most recent past president, Grannan will serve as chairperson for the CAS Board of Directors during   2002. Members of the CAS Nominating Committee for the 2001 CAS elections were Chairperson   Mavis A. Walters, Robert A.   Anker, Albert J. Beer, Alice H.   Gannon, and Steven G. Lehmann.   

Click here to write a Letter to the Editors

Copyright © 2018 Casualty Actuarial Society. All Rights Reserved.