Click here to download a .pdf version of this newsletter.

Return to Main Page

Braithwaite Wins President-Elect; D'Arcy to Become CAS President

D'Arcy Braithwaite
Stephen P. D'Arcy Paul Braithwaite

ARLINGTON, Va.—CAS members elected Paul Braithwaite as CAS President-Elect for 2005. Stephen P. D'Arcy will succeed Mary Frances Miller as CAS president, who in turn will become chairperson of the 2005 CAS Board of Directors. Braithwaite will take on his new position at the close of the 2004 Annual Meeting in Montréal.

Election ResultsBalloting for the CAS election closed on September 2, 2004, and tellers verified the election results. A total of 1,167 Fellows voted in this year's election, or 44.3 percent of the Fellows. This compares to 50.8 percent of the Fellows voting in the 2003 election, and 49.1 percent of the Fellows voting in the 2002 election.   

Braithwaite has served the CAS in many capacities since becoming a Fellow in 1983. He was a member of the CAS Board of Directors from 1997 to 2000 and Executive Council Vice President-Administration from 1994 to 1997. He has chaired the Audit Committee, the Joint Committee for CLRS Seminar, and the Financial Analysis Committee. He served as CAS Assistant Secretary from 1991 to 1993 and was a member of numerous committees, including the Examination Committee.   

Members also elected Regina Berens, Christopher S. Carlson, Allan Kaufman, and Karen F. Terry to the board. They succeed Phillip N. Ben-Zvi, Curtis Gary Dean, David G. Hartman, and Janet R. Nelson.   

At their meeting in September, the board elected Amy S. Bouska as vice president-international and Beth E. Fitzgerald as vice president-professional education. Bouska and Fitzgerald succeed John C. Narvell and Christopher S. Carlson, respectively, who have both completed three-year terms. The board re-elected all incumbent vice presidents, including Deborah M. Rosenberg, administration; Thomas G. Myers, admissions; Joanne S. Spalla, marketing and communications; and Donald F. Mango, research and development.   

Members of the 2004 Nominating Committee are Chairperson Robert F. Conger, Ann M. Conway, Doreen S. Faga, Anne E. Kelly, Dale S. Porfilio, Gail M. Ross, and Julia Causbie Stenberg.

Click here to write a Letter to the Editors

Copyright © 2018 Casualty Actuarial Society. All Rights Reserved.