Casualty Actuarial Society

New Members

Results of 2010 CAS Election

09/01/2010 —

Balloting for the 2010 CAS election closed on August 30, 2010 and the CAS Tellers have verified the election results.
Patricia Teufel has been elected President-Elect.

C. K. “Stan” Khury, Ronald Kozlowski, Andrew E. Kudera and Jeanne (Swanson) Crowell have been elected to the Board of Directors.

The following members were elected or re-elected by the Board to serve as Vice Presidents:

  • Leslie R. Marlo, Vice President-Administration
  • David L. Menning, Vice President-Admissions
  • Barry Franklin, Vice President- ERM
  • Kris D. DeFrain, Vice President-International
  • Nancy A. Braithwaite, Vice President-Marketing and Communications
  • Chester John Szczepanski, Vice President-Professional Education
  • Louise A. Francis, Vice President-Research and Development

These Fellows will assume their positions at the close of the 2010 Annual Meeting in Washington, D.C.

A total of 1,166 Fellows voted in this year's election, or 32% of the Fellows. This compares to 1,208 Fellows or 35% for last year.

According to the election procedures approved by the Board, all vote counts are released to the membership. These follow:

Patricia Teufel 908
C. K. “Stan” Khury 537
Andrew E. Kudera 494
Jeanne (Swanson) Crowell 457
Ron Kozlowski 403
James Merz 373
Jim Rowland 346
Kevin Burke 328
Jon Evans 312
Steven Kelner 266
Charles Gruber 261

Congratulations to the new President-Elect and Board members, and to our new and continuing Vice Presidents! On behalf of the CAS, I want to thank all the candidates in the 2010 election for their willingness to run and, if elected, to serve.

Following are the voting results on the five proposals for changes to the CAS Constitution and Bylaws:

Approve revision of Constitution - Orderly removal of an elected officer or director
Yes 966 95%
No 47 5%
Approve revision of Constitution and Bylaws - Mechanism for members to initiate amendments
Yes 853 89%
No 104 11%
Approve revision of Constitution and Bylaws - Designate an officer as Secretary-Treasurer
Yes 866 89%
No 102 11%
Approve revision of Constitution and Bylaws - Align Constitution and Bylaws with current practices
Yes 883 92%
No 78 8%
Approve revision of Constitution and Bylaws - Eliminate antiquated terms and redundancy
Yes 957 94%
No 60 6%

The CAS Constitution and Bylaws may be amended by an affirmative vote of 10% of the Fellows or two-thirds of the Fellows voting, whichever is greater. Therefore, all five of the proposals were approved by the Fellows.

Roger M. Hayne
President, Casualty Actuarial Society

Back to All News Articles

Back to Future-Fellows News