Regional Affiliate News

Casualty Actuaries of the Northwest (CANW)
CAS President Robert Anker addressed members of CANW on September 5, 1997. The theme of the meeting was Catastrophe Modeling. Speakers included David LaLonde, Richard Anderson, and Paul Piccardo. The meeting was held at Skamania Lodge in Stevenson, Washington, starting at 1:00 p.m. and concluded with dinner at 6:00 p.m.

Casualty Actuaries of New England (CANE)
The last meeting of CANE was held in Sturbridge, Massachusetts, on Wednesday, September 17, 1997.

Casualty Actuaries of the Southeast (CASE)
The tenth anniversary meeting of CASE was held at the Westin Peachtree Plaza in Atlanta on October 1, 1997 (the day after the Casualty Loss Reserve Seminar concluded at the same facility). The meeting included a panel discussion giving a 10-year historical perspective, a session on international actuarial issues, a panel on alternative risk sharing mechanisms and the role of the actuary, and changes to the CAS examination system. As part of this anniversary celebration, an evening reception was held on September 30, 1997.

Casualty Actuaries of the Mid-Atlantic Region (CAMAR)
There were two panel discussions at the June 5, 1997, meeting of CAMAR. Michael Toothman moderated a discussion on current trends in the insurance industry. Panelists were Linda Kaiser, then Insurance Commissioner of Pennsylvania; Vincent Donnelly, President of PMA Group; and Michael Powers, chair of the Temple University Risk Management Department. Howard Cohen introduced Kim Hazelbaker and Adrian Lund, both of the Insurance Institute for Highway Safety, who discussed research and testing done by the Institute. The next meeting will be held in early December. For additional information, call Chris Nyce at (215) 625-1424.

Casualty Actuaries of Greater New York (CAGNY)
Members of CAGNY elected the following new officers at the June 9, 1997 meeting: President Vincent Senia, President-Elect Steven Visner, Vice President Kenneth Quintilian, Secretary-Treasurer James Buck, and Education Chair Ernest Wilson.